Antigua & Barbuda Top Swimmers For Digicel Jonathan Rohr Memorial Tinman

martin spencer

Rory Butler

Release Date

Friday, January 20, 2012


Antigua and Barbuda's top national swimmers, cyclists and runners have been confirmed for the Digicel Jonathan Rohr Memorial Tinman on January 29th 2012 at the Catamaran Hotel.

National cycling time trial champion Marvin Spencer, cycling veteran Robert Marsh, cycling national road champion Jyme Bridges, and Caribbean cycling time trial champion Tamiko Butler are just some of the heavyweights from cycling expected to take part in the team category.

They will be joined by the country's runners including George Hypolite and Cassie Vitalis, as well as some of the island's dominant swimmers in Donovan Simon, Daryl Appleton and Aliah Maginley.

The swimmers, cyclist and runners have been formed up in teams to compete for the over $5,000EC in prize monies available for the team category.

They will begin the race at 9:00 am at the Catamaran Hotel with the 1.2 mile swim leg. The swimmers will then tag their cyclists who will ride the 56 mile course through Bethesda and Potworks Dam to the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground and back for two loops.

The race will then conclude with the runners who, once tagged by their cyclist, will run 13.1 miles to the St. James Club and back to the Catamaran Hotel for two laps. The first team to complete the entire course will be crowned champions.

Event Organizer Cleofoster Harris said the event registration is almost completely sold out. "We have three more sports available for teams so if there is anybody who is on the edge, now is the time to sign up"' Harris said.

The list of confirmed and completed teams to date is as follows in order of swimmers, cyclists and runners.

Team 1; Aliah Maginley, Tamiko Butler and Cassie Vitalis.
Team 2; Donovan Simon, Timothy Thomas and George Hypolite.
Team 3 Charles Edwards, Devon Norris, Kenneth Benjamin.
Team 4; Stefano Mitchell, Marvin Spencer, Javier Hypolite.
Team 5; Mark Mitchell, Robert Marsh, Arthur Mussington.
Team 6; Sebastian Gobinet, Peter Kelsick, Evans Warrington.
Team 7; Daryl Appleton, Neil Lloyd and Jermaine Brann.
Team 8; Mia Trimingham, Tesheed Gordon, Eustace Martin.
Team 9; Cheryl Stephens, Bob Mallin, Kim Mallin.
Team 10; Courtney Vigo, Mario Turciois, Lelise Walwyn.
Team 11; Kyeshawn Christopher, Walton Francis, Clive Ferary.
Team 12; Stephen Gordon, Abevia Mcdownlad, Lizette Ingles.
Team 13; Robert Watkins, Andre Bovell, Paul Cole.
Team 14; Zack Coleman, Michael Charles, Elivera Bell.
Team 15; Maddison Coleman, Ashfield Vigo, Nelson Simon.
Team 16; Sachin Merchant, Kevina Francis, Samantha Matthews.
Team 17; Makela Holowchak, Jymes Bridges, Jamille Nelson.
Team 18; Devon Wuilliez, Ken Jackson, Cordova "Popeye"' Simon.
Team 19; Wayne Henry, Wayne Henry, A Wall.

The Digicel Jonathan Rohr Memorial Tinman half-iron distance triathlon is made possible by its sponsors; Digicel, AUA, Observer Media Group, Pepsi, Aquafina, Sobe Lifewater, the Ministry of Tourism, Catamaran Hotel, Sterlings, Heritage Sports, Captains Quarters Restaurant, Horizons Supplies Limited, CC Wine House, Antigua Athletic Club, Adventure Antigua, Cedars Pottery and Xtreme Health and Fitness.

Partners in this event include the Ministry of Sports, the Antigua and Barbuda Triathlon Association (ABTRI), the Antigua and Barbuda Cycling Association (ABACA), the Antigua and Barbuda Athletics Association (ABAA), the Antigua and Barbuda Olympic Association (ABOA), the Antigua Aquatic Club (AAC), the Wadadli Aquatic Racers (WAR) and the Dolphins Swim Club.

Latest Stories