Marlon Samuels Named West Indies Player of The Year

marlon samuels

Sports Report

Release Date

Saturday, July 6, 2013


Middle-order batsman Marlon Samuels has been named West Indies Cricketer of the Year at the inaugural awards ceremony, which was jointly hosted by the country's cricket Board (WICB) and the players' association (WIPA).

Samuels was also named West Indies' ODI Player of the Year for his performances in the year 2012 when he scored 482 runs at an average of 32.13 with two centuries.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul, the current number one ranked batsman in Tests, was declared the Test Match Player of the Year. The award was accepted on his behalf by current West Indies Test captain Darren Sammy.

Chanderpaul, who has scored 987 runs at an average of 98.70 with three hundreds and five 50s, is currently involved in this year's English county season.

Number one ranked off-spinner Sunil Narine emerged as the winner of the West Indies Twenty20 Player of the Year award with his 16 wickets at an average of 16.87 and an economy rate of 6.16. He took match best figures of four for 12.

West Indies emerging cricketer of the year award was given to Kieran Powell.

Winners at the West Indies Awards:

WI T20 Cricketer of the Year - Sunil Narine

WI ODI Cricketer of the Year - Marlon Samuels

WI Test Cricketer of the Year - Shivnarine Chanderpaul

WI Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Kieran Powell

WI Cricketer of the Year - Marlon Samuels

WI women's Cricketer of the Year - Stafanie Taylor

WICB Lifetime Award - John Hendricks

WIPA Lifetime Award - Winston Reid

U-19 Team of the Year - Barbados

U-19 Cricketer of the Year - Jeremy Solozano (Trinidad and Tobago)

First Class Team of the Year - Jamaica

List A Cricketer of the Year - Sunil Narine

First Class Cricketer of the Year - Nikita Miller

Caribbean T20 Cricketer of the Year - Krishmar Santokie

Latest Stories