New York Drama Critics’ Circle To Announce 2022 Award Winners Thursday, May 12, 2022

New York Drama Critics

Richard Kornberg & Associates

Release Date

Wednesday, May 11, 2022


The winners of the 2022 New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards will be announced Thursday, May 12 at 6pm. The selections will be made immediately beforehand at the organization’s 86th annual voting meeting.

The awards include a cash prize of $2,500 for Best Play, made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation. The awards will be presented during a private ceremony on Friday, May 20.

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle comprises 22 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. The New York Drama Critics' Circle Award, which has been awarded every year since 1936 to the best new play of the season (with optional awards for foreign or American plays, musicals and special achievements), is the nation's second-oldest playwriting award, after the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

Recent Best Play winners include Heroes of the Fourth Turning, The Ferryman and Mary Jane. Recent Best Musical winners include A Strange Loop, The Band’s Visit and Hamilton.

Each year the New York Drama Critics' Circle may also award special citations to individuals, groups and/or productions for outstanding contribution.  Recent recipients include playwrights Paula Vogel and Taylor Mac, actors Deirdre O’Connell and Lois Smith, and the Broadway productions of Jitney and American Utopia.

Adam Feldman, theater critic and editor for Time Out New York, has served as president of the NYDCC since 2005. Joe Dziemianowicz serves as vice president; Zachary Stewart is treasurer.

In addition to Feldman, Dziemianowicz and Stewart, the members of the New York Drama Critics' Circle are David Barbour, David Cote, Vinson Cunningham, Greg Evans, David Finkle, Jeremy Gerard, Charles Isherwood, Chris Jones, Christopher Kelly, Soraya Nadia McDonald, Johnny Oleksinski, David Rooney, Frank Scheck, Alexandra Schwartz, Helen Shaw, David Sheward, Marilyn Stasio, Elisabeth Vincentelli and Matt Windman. Emeritus members include Melissa Rose Bernardo, Michael Feingold, Robert Feldberg, Elysa Gardner, Brian Scott Lipton, Jesse Oxfeld, Michael Sommers, Steven Suskin, Linda Winer and Richard Zoglin.

For more information on the New York Drama Critics' Circle, please visit  

Latest Stories